a month

The last month or more has just been insane! I finished my customer service in heath care class–I admit I didn’t do as well as I should have because the class was cake, I just didn’t plan for it well. It was at the end of the semester for only a few weeks and I let a few things slip. Oh wells. On November 26th I took my state test in which I passed both the written and skills exam and OFFICIALLY became a CNA in the state of Colorado! Pretty awesome! I was worried about the skills, then when I arrived and took the written exam I was more worried about that! No one taught us about foot drop! (what is that?!) Anyway, it worked out great. The following day we headed on vacation for Thanksgiving and since then until last night, our month was go-go-go! Holidays, work, family events, Christmas shopping…you name it, we did it! I also ended up with a horrible head/neck issue that is FINALLY coming under control thanks to a great chiropractor.

This has been a great year and I’m hoping that it ends even better! I have an interview in less than 2 hours for a clinical CNA position in the hospital I am already employed with working nights in the NICU, post-partum and peds units! I am SO SO hoping for this job! Three 12 hours shifts a week (or so), leaving plenty of time for school and family time. This would surely make my year! If you’re the praying type…please shoot some up my way if you don’t mind and if not, send good thoughts! This is the ONLY way I will get any hands on experience working as a CNA as I will not, without a doubt, work as in long-term health. It’s not for me and if you have ever worked in long-term health, even if for 3 clinical days (like myself), then you know what I mean. Bless those who do it every day. The elderly and dying need people like you! It’s just not me.

As always, here are some great links I came across over the last month. I hope that whatever I share is interesting and fun. I do it for two reasons-to share with you all and to save for myself. I know these are things I will keep coming back to over the years as I am in school and maybe even when I’m catching babies. You never know.

Hope you all had a great Christmas! I WILL share before the New Year if I get this great new position.

Links o’ Love:

Labor Nurse: awesome  letter to all labor nurses (and any nurse, really) for all the amazingly hard work it is to be a nurse.

The Gut, Microbes and Poop: post by Holistic IBCLC about food, digestion and breastfeeding.

Lotus Birth: Article about this type of “cutting of the cord”. You preserve the placenta in a basket of sorts with lots of herbs, to keep the stench at bay, and allow for the cord to fall off the baby on it’s own. In other words, you don’t actually cut the umbilical cord. Once the placenta is delivered, it is kept near mama and baby (as baby is still attached) until the cord dries out. Super interesting!

And what’s a link of posts without some amazing birth photography! Incredible births; ¬†incredible photographer!!

Adelaide Birth Photography in Australia

2 thoughts on “a month

  1. that’s how i got started! i did one year as a CNA on telemetry, then three years on postpartum/newborn nursery! i learned so much. i’ll be crossing my fingers for you. :)

Leave a Reply

