World Breastfeeding Week

Happy Sunday Funday! It’s World Breastfeeding Week. This time last year, I had a 3 month old nursling who had become a champion nurser by the time she was 5 weeks old. Those first 5 weeks, though? PURE HELL. It was rough. I was so sore and every time she latched, my toes curled and I winced and did my “labor” breathing through the pain for the first 30 seconds or so. Longest 30 seconds of my life! Anyway, I want to share some of my most favorite photos of our nursing adventure. It was not easy, even after those first few weeks. Breastfeeding a baby goes through many different changes as the baby grows and needs change. I questioned if I was doing the right thing almost every other week it seemed. The number one thing I do know I did right all the time was to listen to Evelyn. I followed her cues and nursed her on demand.

I am asked often where the best places on the web are for answering breastfeeding questions. Here is a list of my favorite resources.

  • Kelly Mom: The ultimate go-to where you can find an answer to just about any question or concern, everything from pumping and storing breast milk to finding out if certain medications are safe.
  • La Leche League: This site will allow you to find your local La Leche League. There you can find monthly or weekly meet ups. Community and support are HUGE in making a breastfeeding relationship last longer.
  • The Breast Site: This site is not just about breastfeeding, but also about breast health and if you have other questions or concerns, this place has the answers.

My hope is that if you are going to be or are a breastfeeding mom, that you have a great hospital with internal resources. Ours has an incredible program which was free. I was able to do free weight checks, go to a weekly support group, and get one on one assistance in person and over the phone by two amazing lactation nurses. I honestly don’t think I could have made it as far in my breastfeeding journey as I had without them!

One of the biggest messages that World Breastfeeding Week promotes is that breastfeeding is NORMAL and NATURAL and nothing to hide behind. We need to encourage our sisters to nurse how they are comfortable-cover, no cover, in public, in private, sitting, side-laying, on an airplane, pumping at work….This link shows statistics state-by-sate the percentage of breastfeeding moms and for how long they have nursed their child.

Image by 2M Photography

Image by 2M Photography

5 thoughts on “World Breastfeeding Week

  1. I’m making a video of women showing their support for breastfeeding for World Breastfeeding Week on my YouTube Channel! If you’d like to be involved, please send a photo showing your support (nursing or just a simple picture of you and your baby/children!) Include your name & baby’s name – just no last names! I’d love the video to be completed by Wednesday! mamanistatips@yahoo.com

  2. Awesome!! Please e-mail me with the photo you’d like me to use and include your name & baby’s name!! I’m finishing up the video today! :) E-mail is easiest for me to keep track of photos & names together! :) THANK YOU! You’re awesome!

Leave a Reply

