Defining Midwifery

I have seen this article floating around the childbirth interwebs and cannot help it any longer. I must post this and share the anthropological aspect of midwifery. It’s kind of funny because, not a few weeks ago, a friend had mentioned to me that the study of childbirth by an anthropologist mainly focuses on midwifery around the globe. I had not really thought about anthropology, however I have had thoughts about creating and influencing the childbirth atmosphere to be more like other countries’ views of this life-changing event. In my own opinion, pregnancy and childbirth are thought of in the medical world as a disease or illness, which is far from it! Granted, there are situations in which medicine is necessary. I’m not talking about those situations. I’m talking about a normal, healthy pregnancy with little to no risks…those are the births that belong in a home surrounded by a midwife, family and friends (or not, in some cases…see Unassisted Birth).

The link below goes to my “Behind the Midwife” page where I think this article belongs. This is why I want to become a midwife, this is what and who a midwife is and if anyone has questions, it’s a great way to give answers. Sometimes, I wish I could whip out something witty and awesome when someone asks me WHY or WHAT IS THAT when I tell them why I’m going back to school. It’s easy to say that I don’t care what anyone else thinks, but the truth is that I do care and that some people just don’t get it. Fine, but at least this article does a wonderful, beautiful job of defining midwifery from an anthropologists point of view. Enjoy.

Midwifery by Robbie Davis-Floyd, PhD

2 thoughts on “Defining Midwifery

Leave a Reply

