The First Birth

Everyone has their first birth, one which is not their own. Last night, I had mine. I was surprised to learn I could join in on a c-section. I have an observation project due soon for my human growth class and I wanted to observe the first hour of life, all while getting my first birth under my belt. Well, I got lucky times two–twins! Now, I was not thrilled about the idea of my first birth being a c/s but I am happy to have been apart of an incredible experience. Mom’s membranes ruptured prematurely at 34wks and it was go time.

I was in the OR from the time that the tech set everything up until the time we transferred the babies to the NICU. I saw mom get her spinal and watched the nurse place her catheter. Surprisingly, my interest overran any thoughts of hey, this is kind of gross because, guess what?? It wasn’t gross at all. While c/s are not natural, everything felt natural. This is how these babies were meant to enter the world. Mom was nice and calm, the respiratory therapists were joking around with the NICU nurses and the anesthesiologist was so kind. While there were nearly 17 people in the room, each and every one had a job, even if it was a student observing (like myself–there were four of us). The labor and delivery nurse called time outs every so often to ensure the right patient was in the right room having the right procedure done with the right doctor. Everyone was so thorough.

Both babies were born seconds apart, both crying. Both had great weights for being preterm. Only one needed a little extra help with some O2 and the other was on room air by the time we arrived in the NICU. Both received an IV for fluids, antibiotics and nutrients. The nurses were amazing. I did not know them well, but I quickly recalled how incredibly nice and gentle they are from my own experience of having my son in the NICU. Before I knew it, my hour of observation was up. I’m sure I could have stayed longer if I wanted too, and I did, but it was almost 7pm and I’d been away from the house for over 12 hours at that point. I was exhausted and ready to see my family.

The birth of these babies could not have been more perfect under the circumstances. Mom did great in surgery without any complications. Dad was so sweet as we chatted in the NICU. I had prepared myself for the worst, knowing that 34wk twins can go either way. I’m so glad they went the right way and am happy to report they are still doing great.

I will never forget this day.

6 thoughts on “The First Birth

  1. you truly won’t. i had the privilege of observing birth many times while working as a CNA on a postpartum unit, then again in nursing school. but my very first labor as a doula, where i arrived at the start of active labor and was there until delivery (a teen that had an unmedicated birth with a 9 pound baby girl!) – i remember almost every single detail and don’t think i’ll ever forget. 🙂

  2. Hello Sarah,

    I have been following your posts with great interest.

    In your training – do you touch on homeopathic treatment before and during birth? I received an excellent treatment from my homeopath that I would like to share/elaborate. It was administered on a broad spectrum, since the doctor was not present. He mentioned that certain midwives can give more targeted treatment depending on the situation at the actual birth.

    I wish I had had this treatment for my first two pregnancies! (I gave birth to my last baby at age 44 – a very “spontaneous” pregnancy and a story-book delivery!)

    I am looking forward to reading your thoughts on this subject.

    Congratulations to your new little miracle !

    Best regards, Mit freundlichen Grüssen, Mise le meas,

    Susanna

    Susanna MacKenzie MacKenzie Multilingual Services 400 boul de la Magdeleine La Prairie, QC J5R4A1 Canada +1 450 724 3502 http://www.susannammackenzie.ca susannam@videotron.ca The limits of my language are the limits of my mind. All I know is what I have words for.” Ludwig Wittgenstein, Philosophical Investigations, 1953

    Words, once they are printed, have a life of their own.

Leave a Reply

