forceps

Yesterday morning, just as the sun was coming up over the foggy eastern plains, a sweet baby made his way earthside with the help of forceps. Now, if you’re like me, just the sound or thought of someone using something so forceful to get a baby out makes me cringe. I knew, however, it was something I’d have to see eventually.

This mama had been laboring down and pushing for a long time. Hours. I lost track of time and her pain was intense. The nurses and OB suspected baby was OP-faceup. I instantly empathized with her. Logan was OP. I had back labor. Horrible, horrible pain. OB ordered another bolus and we waited. 20 minutes later her legs were heavy and she had a dreary, exhausted smile on her face saying, okay, I want to meet my baby.

This particular OB, I have heard, does incredible deliveries, both in the OR and on the labor bed. In fact, my 2nd birth was with him and he was so hands-off that time. Barely touched mama as she pushed her baby out and up to her chest. It was amazing. If anyone could do a clean, gentle forceps delivery, it was him.

We placed her legs up. Dad got the camera out. OB placed one forcep inside, then the other. I cringed thinking about how this must feel to the baby. With the next contraction, she pushed and he pulled. Together, this baby finally crowned. Then we waited for the next rush. He pulled, then removed the forceps, and baby slid out face up, just as we had suspected. The NP waited for a few good cries and then she left. Mama cried. I beamed. That was a forceps delivery. Wow. It’s hard for me to say it was bad because, it wasn’t. From what I could tell, it was necessary. And as I stood front and center to the left of the OB, it was a beautiful forceps delivery.

Since baby was OP, mama had some tearing. He stitched her up quickly. The bleeding was minimal. Seriously, a beautiful birth all around.

4 thoughts on “forceps

  1. Up until this point, I had never heard anything but negative about the use of forceps. Thank you for sharing this story.

Leave a Reply

