Notes from a Reasonable Direct Entry Midwife

Incredible letter/article. These words are words I hope to embody one day as a CNM.
“Though I believe deeply in parents’ rights of choice regarding both care provider and setting for the births of their children, I also believe that midwives have a core responsibility for self-identifying our own limitations in training, experience and skill as care providers for higher risk pregnancies.”

Academic OB/GYN

Today I had the pleasure of talking shop with my brother’s mother in law, Joni Dawning, a very experienced direct entry midwife in Eugene, OR.  Joni has been attending births for over twenty years, and she has been a great resource to me over the years I have known her.  I hold her in great respect, as she is the kind of midwife that I think is a great resource to her community.  She provides a service to her clients that is greatly desired, but at the same time sees herself as a part of a larger system of birth service provision that includes hospitals and obstetricians.  Unlike some direct entry midwives (or CPMs in some communities), she respects the limits of what she can offer, and does not see a hospital transfer as a failure in any way.

Recently in Oregon there have been some deaths during attempted breech…

View original post 1,134 more words

Leave a Reply

