the next few weeks

It’s September! And guess what? I am NOT crazy about fall. Not yet, anyway. I love the weather and fallish things that happen this time of year, but I am not ready for it. I LOVE summertime. I love the heat and the shorts and the flip flops. I love seeing my kids run through the sprinkler in the front yard and ride their bikes around the circle. I love sitting on the back patio with a beer at 9 pm while the temp is still 80*. And since it’s still over 90* here, I am not at all ready for wintertime. I am also not a huge fan of pumpkin spiced things. I like it, for a moment, but I don’t obsess over it like a lot of people seem to do. I think other hesitations in welcoming fall comes with the fact that I am {thisclose} to applying for nursing school. It is finally here and I’m kinda freaking out! I’m excited and nervous. I’ve been working towards this goal for a little over 3 years now and it’s finally happening! I have become quite comfortable taking my prerec classes online and managing my school life from a distance, but come April, I will be in class at least once a week applying my skills and becoming a nurse. WHAT?! There is also a tiny part of me that wonders, “WHAT IF I don’t get in?” For most reading this, I’m sure you’re shaking your head at me. I am a great student. I have worked really hard so I know that the chances of me not getting accepted in the program are very small compared to those in which I would get in. But it’s a hard, uneasy, exciting balance.

Over the next few weeks, I will be taking the TEAs test, a standardized entrance exam, attending a pre-BSN meeting, and starting my Statistics class. September, I’m sure, will fly by so I am willing to welcome fall once the temps have cooled down and these three school items are checked off my list.

Leave a Reply

