a new year

Usually, I write an end of year post that summarizes my favorite posts and memories from the year. I am having a hard time doing that this year for a number of reasons but mostly because if I didn’t document it here, I have a hard time remembering what happened each month that was significant. Poor excuse, I know, but I will attempt to note some highlights from this past year and hopes for 2017.

A year ago today, I had already submitted every detailed document, letter, and transcript to the only nursing program in Colorado that would be good enough for me. I was anxiously waiting for the WORD that I had been accepted. There was little doubt that I wouldn’t get in, but I had to be realistic and not get my hopes up too high. It was 8 days later that I received the greatest news of 2016 that I had officially been accepted into the nursing program. SO EXCITED!

The first half of the year was spent preparing for school by doing the background check, drug test, and med calc practice exams. I purchased books, scrubs and waited for the day I would officially start nursing school. There was this surreal feeling that lingered in the air as each day passed. I worked, I played with my family, and I finished up a couple classes online. It was a surprisingly smooth transition from working full-time to being a student full-time.

Once school started, there were days where I felt 100% comfortable and as if this was exactly what I had been waiting for and there were days I dug my head into my hands, bawled like a baby and wished for just one extra point on an exam or comp to pass. It was the largest, most thrilling, life-changing roller coaster I had ever put myself on. And I’m still going.

Last week before Christmas, I finished my second semester of nursing school and could not be more proud of myself and the amazing students I get to go through this with. I have made some life-long friends. I want the professors to be forever-mentors. My heart is so full of love, gratitude, acceptance, and joy for the last year. Not one bit of it was easy and I know without a doubt that easy is boring. I like the challenge. I like the learning and more than anything, above all the content, people and time spent studying, I feel closer to God that I have in years. My Spiritual health (which EVERYONE HAS, with or without believe in God or a higher power) has grown beyond measure. I pray that this coming year is full of learning, joy, love, and grace in all aspects of my life. I pray for forgiveness and understanding when I’m not there for my friends or feel weak and too tired to be social.

You know I love you all for being here, loving and supporting me. I could not get through any of this without my amazing husband, children, family and friends. THANK YOU, from the bottom of my heart. May 2017 bless you in amazing ways.

Love, Sarah

One thought on “a new year

Leave a Reply

